1392 Madison Avenue,
Manhattan, NY 10029

27 Units

Built in 1910

6 Floors

Rent Stabilized Units: Yes
Good Cause Evictions: Yes
Evictions: 0
Litigation History: No
1 Year Bedbug History: No
Pet Friendly: No
Available Listings In 1392 Madison Avenue
no-listing
Don't miss out on any new listings!
Save buildings to your favorites and we'll let you know as soon as something becomes available.
Hey smart renter!
In the past three years, this building had:
11 complaints
See all complaints about this building in a rental report
Open Violations
A violation is issued to a building when a city inspector from NYC's Department of Housing Preservation and Development validates and confirms a complaint made to 311. The violations listed below are open violations that have yet to be addressed or have not been confirmed as resolved by the city.
Duration in the past 10 years.
Data last updated 16 days ago.
BUILDING AVERAGE:
Less than 0.01 violation per unit
NEW YORK CITY AVERAGE:
0.81 violation per unit
flag
Non-hazardous
0
class A
i.e. no peephole on a door, or no street # on the building, unlawful keeping of animals
MOST RECENT:
No violation found...
Show all
flag
Hazardous
0
class B
i.e. smoke detector issues, inadequate lighting, no lighting for stairways
MOST RECENT:
No violation found...
Show all
flag
Immediately hazardous
0
class C
i.e. rodents, pest, mold, inadequate heat or hot water, defective building parts
MOST RECENT:
No violation found...
Show all
flag
Missing information/filings
0
class I
Missing or non-compliant with administrative information orders or filings
MOST RECENT:
No violation found...
Show all
Property Owners and Associates
R
Rafael Sassouni
3.6(7)
Agent
1 Property27 Units
Litigation History: No
Evictions: 0
A
1392 Associates, LLC
3.9(15)
Corporate Owner
3 Properties70 Units
Litigation History: Yes
Evictions: 1
D
David Harounian
3.8(17)
Officer
7 Properties127 Units
Litigation History: Yes
Evictions: 2
B
Benny Bushari
3.6(7)
Site Manager
1 Property27 Units
Litigation History: No
Evictions: 0
Frequently Asked Questions

Renter Q&A

ask-question
Be the first to ask a question!

Building Ratings

Water Pressure
Cleanliness
Pest Control
Heat
Noise Levels
Owner Responsiveness
Neighbors
Garbage Management

Renter Recommendations

--% of renters recommend this building

--% of renters approve of this owner

Rents and Deposits

-- of renters received their security deposits back
It HAS NOT been reported if this building accepts electronic rent payments.

Reviews (7)

10 months ago
Sorely disappointed and will not renew
Former Tenant
Pros:
This apartment is one block from Central Park which was a dream for me and my dog. It's close to the 6 train, cafes, restaurants, etc. so the location is decent, albeit a bit far uptown. There are young and friendly tenants in the building and some older tenants who seem to have been around for a while because of the rent stabilization (which is another plus). My apartment specifically is newly renovated with new fixtures but I think the rest of the building is old and without a dishwasher. Tenants who know each another will bring each others' packages up (because of the package thieves).
Cons:
The walk-up is brutal with a raised first floor. Feeling for the senior and disabled folks in the building. The laundry room is shared with the other building and you have to go outside and downstairs where the trash area is to get there. Not fun in the rain or in cold weather. There are only 4 washers and 4 dryers and they break down from time to time. When you tell the Super, they tell you that YOU have to call them to fix it. There's also an evil stray cat that will wait under the stairs and try to swipe at your feet when you try to go back upstairs to get back into the building. The building is not maintained. Any trash or debris from outside will remain for weeks and weeks in the same spot. When I moved in, I found 3 dead roaches on the stairs that remained for the next month until I emailed the building. It's become clear that they clean the building maybe once a month? Or if we beg. Our downstairs neighbor has had parties blasting music as late as 3am on weeknights and as early as 6:45am on weekend mornings. Bad lighting; apartment faces the back of the building. It always looks like it’s 8pm and the winters are miserable. Beginning of winter, the apartment was FREEZING. Now that we've settled into winter, it's usually too hot. The building has a number of package thieves and on top of that, the 2nd door into the building is constantly broken and for weeks on end. Delivery people press all the buttons so regardless, it's easy for anyone to get in. When I contacted the building about fixing the lock on the door because it was a bigger risk to tenants and our packages, the management company's response to me was that it's up to the building if they want to install cameras and they recommended my requiring a signature for my packages. This was in response to me asking if they could lock their door because of the known issue. And we have cameras and pictures of the package thieves but there's nothing that can be done. This building is constantly targeted.
Advice to owner:
Please take better care of your building. Just because it's rent stabilized, you should still treat it better. (Some) people spend a lot of money to live here but even the rent stabilized folks deserve a clean and decently maintained building to live in.
Over 1 year ago
Nothing to complain about
Former Tenant
Pros:
Kitchen was updated, the landlord is responsive, they keep up with the trash
Cons:
I live on the 5th floor; the heat can be iffy because the radiators are hard to control
Over 1 year ago
Terrible and rude management
Former Tenant
Pros:
Close to Central park
Cons:
Negligent and rude management.
Advice to owner:
Take care of your tenants and create a safe and habitable environment for them. When maintenance requests come in, actually take care of them.
Over 1 year ago
1 year lease
Former Tenant
Pros:
The super on site is very responsive but kinda give shotty solutions to problems. like our mirror hinge broke and instead of screwing it back in, or replacing the fixture .. he glued it and it’s broken many time but at least glued again! Not really dirty but not crazy clean. we haven’t had issues with bugs, rats, or water pressure. our apartment is a good size and reasonably priced which I enjoy. haven’t moved out yet so waiting to see if they are insane about giving the security deposit back in full.
Cons:
washer and dryer room smells like mold and so will your clothes. we constantly have package thieves but I feel like every building does without a doorman. the heat is from radiators and my god do those baby’s work. it will be 90 degrees inside in december so we always had our windows open, but could be worse.
Advice to owner:
maintain the washer and dryer room
Over 2 years ago
Great experience just a little loud
Former Tenant
Pros:
very clean and nice location.
Cons:
in loud area.
Advice to owner:
maybe better insulation on windows for noise.
Over 2 years ago
Ok experience
Former Tenant
Pros:
Laundry in building
Cons:
Unable to control heat. Boil in the winters.
Over 2 years ago
Birds In The Walls
Former Tenant
Pros:
Loved the exposed brick, apartment was a great size, laundry in building, garbage management was easy, neighbors are lovely, super is very responsive and attentive
Cons:
There were birds living in our walls because the management company had a hole in the roof and didn’t bother to patch it for YEARS. Had to let 3 out in a 6 week period.
Submit an anonymous review to gain full access.
OR
Don't have a review to share? Subscribe to gain full access to the platform.Already have an account?Login Here