201 East 4 Street,
Manhattan, NY 10009

9 Units

Built in 1900

5 Floors

Rent Stabilized Units: Unknown
Good Cause Evictions: Yes
Evictions: 0
Litigation History: Yes
1 Year Bedbug History: No
Pet Friendly: No
Available Listings In 201 East 4 Street
no-listing
Don't miss out on any new listings!
Save buildings to your favorites and we'll let you know as soon as something becomes available.
Hey smart renter!
In the past three years, this building had:
40 complaints
See all complaints about this building in a rental report
Open Violations
A violation is issued to a building when a city inspector from NYC's Department of Housing Preservation and Development validates and confirms a complaint made to 311. The violations listed below are open violations that have yet to be addressed or have not been confirmed as resolved by the city.
Duration in the past 10 years.
Data last updated a few seconds ago.
BUILDING AVERAGE:
1.11 violation per unit
NEW YORK CITY AVERAGE:
0.81 violation per unit
flag
Non-hazardous
1
class A
i.e. no peephole on a door, or no street # on the building, unlawful keeping of animals
MOST RECENT:
Jan 11, 2021: section 27-2005 adm code repair the broken or defective plastered surfaces and paint in a uniform color at ceiling in the 1st room from east located at apt 8, 5th story, 1st apartment from west at north
Show all
flag
Hazardous
9
class B
i.e. smoke detector issues, inadequate lighting, no lighting for stairways
MOST RECENT:
Dec 12, 2023: § 27-2005 hmc: properly repair or replace the broken or defective mortise lock at door. in the entrance located at apt 1, 2nd story, 1st apartment from east at south
Show all
flag
Immediately hazardous
0
class C
i.e. rodents, pest, mold, inadequate heat or hot water, defective building parts
MOST RECENT:
No violation found...
Show all
flag
Missing information/filings
0
class I
Missing or non-compliant with administrative information orders or filings
MOST RECENT:
No violation found...
Show all
Property Owners and Associates
E
199-203 East Fourth Owner LLC
3.3(13)
Owner
3 Properties38 Units
Litigation History: Yes
Evictions: 0
K
Kc3 - 354-356 State Street, LLC
3(136)
Corporate Owner
56 Properties851 Units
Litigation History: Yes
Evictions: 5
E
199-203 East 4th Owner LLC
3.2(17)
Corporate Owner
3 Properties39 Units
Litigation History: Yes
Evictions: 0
K
Kevin Schreiber
3(150)
Shareholder
Officer
Head Officer
66 Properties1027 Units
Litigation History: Yes
Evictions: 5
Frequently Asked Questions

Renter Q&A

ask-question
Be the first to ask a question!

Building Ratings

Water Pressure
Cleanliness
Pest Control
Heat
Noise Levels
Owner Responsiveness
Neighbors
Garbage Management

Renter Recommendations

--% of renters recommend this building

--% of renters approve of this owner

Rents and Deposits

-- of renters received their security deposits back
It HAS NOT been reported if this building accepts electronic rent payments.

Reviews (5)

11 months ago
Got Robbed and Management Blamed Us
Former Tenant
Pros:
The neighbors are nice. All college-aged kids. The color of the cabinets were pretty.
Cons:
Title says so much but there's so much more. The area is pretty sketchy. The virtual doorman doesn't work so the super gives out the master code to everyone. This means people will sneak in and steal the packages. I once watched a man walk in the building with an empty backpack and walk out with a full backpack ten minutes later. I checked and all of the packages were shredded open. The trash room is disgusting. There are cockroaches everywhere because there is no proper garbage disposal. The laundry room is a joke. There isn't even a way to fill your card with money to use them in the first place. But even if there was, I would never use the laundry machines because of how dirty and outdated they were. There are "3" bedrooms but only one of them has a dark window that has pretty much zero light. The bathrooms constantly leak and I've seen at least 5 spiders. One of my roommates had water leaking from her ceiling for three days before the super bothered to show up. The courtyard is nothing like it was pictured online. It is instead used as a trash room by all the residents. There are constantly college parties there. Now, for the grand finale. My roommates and I were robbed twice and assaulted once in this building. Both times, the robber entered via the front door in the middle of the night. We lost $2,000 worth of items. After lying to us that they had not distributed the master codes to the virtual doorman, management preceded to tell us they had also lied about having a functioning security camera in the lobby. We were three (not even 20) young girls. This was our first apartment ever. Our parents were scared to death. I think it's very clear that I recommend that you do not live here.
Advice to owner:
You know what you can do better but you don't.
Over 1 year ago
Review for the building
Former Tenant
Pros:
Location is great, off of the main street, quiet Building is kept clean Neighbors are nice Super is responsive and helpful
Cons:
The trash disposal being through the basement The laundry machines being in the basement
Over 1 year ago
Don’t live here - bad management
Former Tenant
Pros:
Good location, nice bathrooms, super was responsive and quick. Felt fairly safe.
Cons:
The management is terrible. Connected to Jared Kushner so… took FOREVER to get back our security deposit until we threatened them. Not friendly or helpful. Sketchy company. Also they said we had a three bedroom, but only one bedroom had a window, so it’s illegally marketed as a 3 bedroom but it was really a 1 bedroom. Lots of rats outside. Super loud at night because they fight and scream. Unreal gross backyard. Hated going out there to put trash out. Also the laundry room was so gross as well. People opened my mail and stole stuff. TINY room, like all it could fit was my full size bed. Literally. And then we had issues with our floor and they fixed it for a few weeks, making us lose access to our living room.
Advice to owner:
Be kind to your tenants and clean the place ip
Over 1 year ago
Great location, super is chill
Former Tenant
Pros:
Area is safe Super is responsive
Cons:
Packages stolen Cleanliness issues Laundry doesn't work
Advice to owner:
Fix the laundry and add cameras/virtual doorman
Over 2 years ago
Don’t live here
Former Tenant
Pros:
The virtual doorman function and passcode to enter the building is useful and nice. Kitchen and bathrooms are up to date. Location is nice. Living room space is big and full of light. Closet has built in shelves.
Cons:
Don’t expect response from management. Garbage is a mess and you can watch rats go to it in the backyard from your window. Don’t ever expect to use the backyard for anything besides smoking. Neighbors are horrendous and have ragers in said backyard - had to call 311 on them a few times because owner doesn’t care. Packages are always stolen. Laundry room is never cleaned, found mold in the washer. Two “bedrooms” do not have windows and should not legally be called a bedroom. oh there was a constant leak in the bathroom vent of im sure sewer water. Nats we’re constantly in the bathroom due to lack of ventilation. Bedrooms only fit a queen bed nothing else don’t expect to fit anything else. Fridge is also too small for three people - constantly fought with roommates about this. AC units were very dusty and have not been cleaned for at least a few years.
Advice to owner:
Listen to your tenants. I hope karma bites you in the ass and you aren’t able to market these units as three bedrooms anymore at this ridiculous price.
Submit an anonymous review to gain full access.
OR
Don't have a review to share? Subscribe to gain full access to the platform.Already have an account?Login Here